Nain Rugs: Unveiling the Elegance and Grades

Nain rugs, also known as Nain carpets, are a cherished form of Persian rugs that have been captivating collectors and enthusiasts for centuries. These exquisite handwoven creations originate from the town of Nain, located in the Isfahan province of Iran. Renowned for their unparalleled craftsmanship, intricate designs, and luxurious materials, Nain rugs have a rich history and are highly coveted in the world of rug connoisseurs. In this article, we will explore the beauty of Nain rugs and delve into the various grades that distinguish them.

Nain Rugs: A Glimpse of Elegance

Historical Significance

Nain rugs have a heritage that dates back centuries, with roots tracing to Persia's golden era of carpet weaving during the Safavid dynasty (1501–1736). They are descendants of the renowned Isfahan rugs, famous for their floral patterns and intricate designs. The town of Nain has played a crucial role in the evolution of Persian carpet making, and it has consistently produced some of the world's most coveted rugs.


Nain rugs are celebrated for their impeccable craftsmanship. They are hand-knotted by skilled artisans who often use the traditional Persian knot, resulting in a durable and resilient rug. These rugs are crafted using high-quality materials, primarily wool and silk, which contribute to their luxurious texture and longevity. The combination of fine materials and expert craftsmanship ensures that Nain rugs are not only visually stunning but also built to stand the test of time.

Design Elements

One of the distinguishing features of Nain rugs is their intricate and elaborate designs. These rugs often showcase a central medallion surrounded by beautifully detailed floral motifs and arabesques. The color palette of Nain rugs is typically subtle and refined, featuring soft shades of cream, ivory, blue, and beige. The designs are meticulously woven, and the use of silk inlays adds a luminous touch to the overall appearance.

Grades of Nain Rugs

Nain rugs are categorized into different grades based on their quality, materials used, and knot density. These grades determine the value and desirability of each rug. Here are the main grades you'll encounter when exploring Nain rugs:

1. Nain 6-Lah

  • Knot Density: Approximately 1,200,000 knots per square meter.
  • Materials: Wool or a blend of wool and silk.
  • Design: Elaborate central medallion with intricate floral patterns and often a silk border.
  • Quality: High quality and finely woven, making them highly sought after and collectible.

2. Nain 9-Lah

  • Knot Density: Approximately 900,000 knots per square meter.
  • Materials: High-quality wool with silk accents.
  • Design: Intricate central medallion and elaborate floral motifs throughout the field.
  • Quality: Exceptional craftsmanship and a luxurious feel, prized by collectors.

3. Nain 12-Lah

  • Knot Density: Approximately 600,000-700,000 knots per square meter.
  • Materials: Finest wool and silk.
  • Design: Exquisite central medallion, intricate borders, and finely detailed floral patterns.
  • Quality: The highest grade, known for its exceptional quality, intricate details, and lustrous silk highlights.

4. Nain Habibian

  • Special Category: Named after the renowned Habibian family of Nain rug weavers.
  • Knot Density: Varies, but often found in the 6-Lah.
  • Materials: High-quality wool and silk.
  • Design: Exquisite designs, sometimes featuring scenes from Persian poetry or history.
  • Quality: Considered among the most collectible and prestigious Nain rugs, reflecting the epitome of craftsmanship.

5- Nain 4-lah: very rare

  • Knot Density: Approximately 2,000,000 knots per square meter.
  • Materials: Finest wool (also known as Kork-Wool) and silk or pure silk.
  • Design: Exquisite central medallion, intricate borders, and finely detailed floral patterns.
  • Quality: The highest grade, known for its exceptional quality, intricate details, and lustrous silk highlights.

The term Lah refers to the thickness of the warp. Accordingly; 4-lah consists of 4finer threads and so on.  The thicker the threads the more course the knots.

In conclusion, Nain rugs are a testament to the Persian tradition of rug making, boasting elegance, artistry, and a rich history. Their grades, ranging from 6-Lah to Nain Habibian, offer options for collectors and enthusiasts with varying tastes and budgets. Whether you seek a masterpiece for your collection or a touch of luxury for your home, Nain rugs continue to captivate with their timeless beauty and craftsmanship.